Law against pregnant women drinking alcohol

http://news.sky.com/story/1215845/call-to-make-drinking-while-pregnant-a-crime
So this link just appeared on my Facebook with lots of debate whether pregnant women should or shouldn’t drink alcohol and whether it should be a crime. I honestly can’t think of anything worse than potentially doing something that could hurt your unborn baby. Now I’m pro-choice, I don’t really agree on abortions but think there are circumstances when it may be best (i.e. rape victim etc) but I feel that the use of alcohol, cigarettes or drugs whilst pregnant is disgusting. I don’t smoke or take drugs and as soon as i discovered I was pregnant with my girls I stopped straight away. It was an easy decision for me as my babies health was more important.
However I’m not sure how it’ll be policed if it does become a crime, they’ll obviously not be allowed to buy it when out at a pub etc, but then what about those who don’t show for quite a while or hide it well. Also how can it be proved that they aren’t just drinking at home. It’ll be a very difficult thing to do. I’m totally against drinking whilst pregnant but honestly don’t think it’ll become a crime.

Leave a Reply

